1911Forum banner

New here. Is SA a good start?

899 Views 7 Replies 7 Participants Last post by  Ugly-Jeep-Truck
I am new to 1911. I am looking for a good 1911 pistol. I was looking at the Mil-Spec. It is well within my price range. Is SA reliable? I don't wanna keep having work done on it. Would this be a good start, or should I look at something else. Looking to use it for target/range, and duty carry. What about for competition?

[This message has been edited by BKC45ACP (edited 09-25-2001).]
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

· Registered
812 Posts
In my experiance S/A's are reliable.I have a 2001 loaded full size & other than shortening the front site to shoot POA it's perfect. Most of the name brands are good, (Colt/Kimber/& S/A) Of course Springfield has the lifetime warr.

------------------
O.K., My Turn

· Registered
386 Posts
I just bought my first gun and I have to say that I couldn't be happier with my choice -- a Springfield 1911-A1 TRP. Yes, it dug deep into my savings, but a good gun will last a life time. Its an elegant piece, and I continue to get compliments on it. Its eas to shoot, and is true to its 2" group specifications. The Lifetime Warrenty is an added bonus, and from what I hear they don't fuss about it either.

As for buying parts, I'm quickly learning that this isn't so much a mode necessary for repairing the gun. Its just fun! i'd be surprised if you don't end up with a set of recoil springs, shock buffers, .22 conversion kit, 6 magazines, bushing wrench, and an assortment of maintanace brushes, lubs and gadgets. ENJOY!

[This message has been edited by ShootinSpirit (edited 09-26-2001).]

· Registered
3,837 Posts
I too bought a SA 1911A1. I had to taake adantage of the warranty, but they got it back in decent time. I haven't shot it yet to confirm the fix. That said, I would buy the SA Mil-Spec.