1911Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all, I’m a new 1911 owner. I’ve been keeping an eye out for a government 1911 for a while when I happened across this one at a local gun shop. I took the chance at buying it for a pretty reasonable price, but I’m starting to wonder if my nerves and excitement from thinking I found a military issue 1911 may have clouded my judgment and I really bought something I shouldn’t have.
According to the store I bought it from, it is a WWI colt frame, with a WWII Remington Rand side. As far as the side goes from everything I have found online, it appears to have been made in 1943. But the frame is what has me troubled. The lack of any “United states property” is the most troubling, but also the location of the serial number. If anyone could shed some light on what this frame actually is, it would be greatly appreciated.

·
Registered
1,280 Posts
Hello all, I’m a new 1911 owner. I’ve been keeping an eye out for a government 1911 for a while when I happened across this one at a local gun shop. I took the chance at buying it for a pretty reasonable price, but I’m starting to wonder if my nerves and excitement from thinking I found a military issue 1911 may have clouded my judgment and I really bought something I shouldn’t have.
According to the store I bought it from, it is a WWI colt frame, with a WWII Remington Rand side. As far as the side goes from everything I have found online, it appears to have been made in 1943. But the frame is what has me troubled. The lack of any “United states property” is the most troubling, but also the location of the serial number. If anyone could shed some light on what this frame actually is, it would be greatly appreciated.

View attachment 602220
Dzach,

Welcome to the Forum !

Good News,---and, bad news.