1911Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
OK guys. Just picked it up today. I am new to the 1911 style and have a question or two. I put the magizine in (unloaded of course) I pull back the slide. It locks. Then I press the slide release as if to chamber a round. The slide stays locked back. I drop the magazine, push the slide release, and the slide shoots forward. Why is the slide not releasing with the magazine in?

Also, is there a good site that has a video of someone breaking down the 1911 so I can clean it thoroughly? Still covered in oil from being brand new.

Thanks guys.

·
Registered
1,370 Posts
it is designed that if there is an EMPTY mag in to lock the slide back. you didnt mention if the mag was loaded or not.

strangely enough mine doesnt lock the slide back even with an empty mag, but im not worried about it at this point.

if you have a round in the mag, you should be able to pull the slide to the rear to release the slide. if the mag is empty it should just lock open again. the best thing to do is not drop the slide with an empty magazine.

good luck to ya

russel
SDMF

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
OK. Figured it out. Took it apart, cleaned it, was a PITA to put back together. I like the pistol. I am just concerned. This was to be my concealed carry weapon. Just afraid it will be to heavy to wear all day down here in the Texas heat. I guess we will just have to wait and see. I will take it to the range on Saturday and see how she does.

·
Registered
1,370 Posts
im planning on wearing mine in the oklahoma heat this summer.. lol.. we get pretty warm and humid around here too!

i am using the crossbreed holster i bought for my fullsize. its IWB and with a good belt it should work well with a pair of shorts and a long shirt over it.