1911Forum banner

New SS Mil-Spec, recommended mods

1391 13
Hi,

I just bought a new SS Mil-Spec and I haven't had a chance to shoot it yet but boy does it feel good in the hands!! (Except for the cheesy plastic grips, those have gotta go! :rolleyes: )

I decided to buy a Springfield based on the good reports from other owners that I have read on this forum and the reasonable price vs. quality and warranty issue. I am a machine shop teacher and after thouroughly inspecting the machining on this gun I can say that it is very well built! The only thing I don't really like is the 2 piece barrel which seems to be almost a non issue to most. The slide to frame fit is excellent with practically no play at all.

My questions: Are there any upgrades/modifications that you folks would recommend? So far the only things besides the grips that I want to change are: get rid of the ILS system, add an extended safety, and possibly a beavertail grip safety.

Which manufacturers do you recommend for these parts and how much fitting is involved?

The pistol is probably a better shot than I am and I am not interested in a whiz-bang, full competition race gun, but I want a very reliable and fun to shoot weapon that may one day be used as a concealed carry piece.

Any input would be appreciated!

Greg
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

· Premium Member
3,543 Posts
Welcome to the forum. Those Mil Specs are great out of the box (except for the grips), and even better as a base for a custom. As for recommending modifications, there are so many different great ways to go, the most efficient thing to do is refer you to this thread: http://forums.1911forum.com/showthread.php?t=101231

· Banned
190 Posts
Since you ask

Greg,

Seraph is right. Read the post here. There are bunches of good ideas that you will get.

But....since you have a Mil Spec....and I have a Mil Spec, and you ask about modifications made to Mil Spec's....well....this is what I did to mine:

Trigger(midway)