1911Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
207 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Newbie here. Shopping for a 1911/1991. I tried out a Colt 1991A1, and liked it a lot. I am thinking of getting a series 80 cuz it's the only legal one in CA. Anywheres I should look for a stainless government? Would this be a pretty good start for a rookie 1991 shooter? It felt good in my hand, and I shot it well.

·
Registered
1,689 Posts
A good choice, if it shoots good and feels good then you are really on the right track. The series 80 is a perfect start for a rookie and it wont take long to lose that rookie designation.

I have said for many years that you should shoot, use and carry the gun that you are the most proficient with. The hits are what count, close misses are still misses.

------------------
No man is above the law and no man is below it. Nor do we ask any mans permission when we require him to obey it.

·
Registered
684 Posts
Personal opinion is to go for the matte blue. Easy to refinish, steel is good for a gunsmith to work with and apparently holds fitting longer. Maybe someone more qualified can comment on stainless vs blue steel.

To be honest, my reason is that I just like the looks soooo much better!

·
Registered
207 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I called a gun store about 1991's. He said Colt is out of business, and that whatever I find out there that is Colt, is just the remnants of what was Colt. He said there are much better makers, and named Springfield, Kimber, etc. What do you make of this? Is he right, Colt doesn't exist anymore? I wasn't aware.

·
Registered
332 Posts
he is a whacko. colt IS still very alive and kicking. he's just trying to sell you a more expensive gun. go somewhere else....before he tries to sell you a glock (no offense)

------------------
Nothing like to smell of Breakfree to make my day complete.

·
Registered
1,019 Posts