1911Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
75 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,

I’m looking for some advice to help me get started in reloading 45 ACP. I’ve been reloading for rifle and shotgun for a few years, so I’m not new to the reload process, but I have no experience with pistol reloading.

I have all the equipment needed to reload very accurate rifle rounds, but I’m not sure of the type of equipment the pistol experts usually use. I’ll be gearing my reloading and practice sessions towards ammo used in IDPA and IPSC shooting. I know I’ll need new dies, but I can use some guidance regarding what type to get (I use Redding FL sizing, Type S neck sizing, and Competition Seater dies for my rifle rounds). Is a separate crimp die the way to go, or do most competitors use a combination seater/crimp die ?

I’d also like some info on the types of bullets, brass, powder, and primers IDPA & IPSC shooters use. I’ll eventually get into casting my own bullets, so any recommendations on bullet molds and casting equipment would also be welcome. Thanks in advance.

·
Registered
366 Posts
You posed questions with thousands of possible answers. You definitely sound like an experienced reloader. A good place for you to start would be Rob Leatham's and Brian Enos' videos & books specifically about reloading for competition. You can find their materials in The Blue Press catalog from Dillon.
Ask fellow IDPA and USPSA shooter for advice. Front Sight, the magazine for USPSA members, has a reloading section in each bi-monthly issue.
Here is one of a thousand answers, my favorite load uses:
5.3 grains of Winchester 231
Winchester primer
Starline brass
230 grain complete metal jacket, round nose from Montana Gold
1.260 to 1.262 over all length
.002 taper crimp