1911Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
228 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey Gang!

I'm new to the STI/SV board, but not to 1911's. I'm gonna give USPSA Limited a go this year, and I've decided to run an STI double stack.

I currently have a long/wide frame on order from Dawson's, and I was wondering if there any particular ways that race guns like to be set up. So, anybody with build experience as far as competition rigs go, I'd love to hear about what they like. If you don't mind sharing.

I've built defense and carry guns, just never a full-on race rig.

Thanks in advance guys!

Smitty

·
Registered
905 Posts
I can't answer your specific question, but I want to welcome you to the STI family. There's nobody better than Dave Dawson in getting your gun set up properly. He will be glad to help you get the gun just right. Should I tell him that this will most probably not be his only STI?

·
Registered
115 Posts
Great guns, STI's. 2011's are the best way to go in the limited class, short,crisp triggers. I have one of their 1911, love it. I compete in USPSA, Single stack division. Good times ahead. Welcome.

·
Registered
228 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thanks fella's. I have the gun pretty well mapped out. The question I have is-can STI slides be done up as bull barrel, OR traditional bushing set-ups? And, which would be more recommended as far as reliability goes?

I'm sure this won't be my only STI rig. I've seen and heard lots of great things about STI. Hopefully the build goes well, and I'm really looking forward to the first match.

Thanks guys!

Smitty

·
Registered
2,864 Posts
Disable your slide stop, or trim the slide stop tab off your mag followers. With most of the 2011 mags you can very easily over insert a mag, especially with extended basepads and break an ejector.

Plus, if you are shooting limited you should NEVER go to slide lock.