1911Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
74 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been contemplating buying a TRS for about 3 years now. I like my SA and I got a good deal on it at that time. Finally, I decided to make the move, sold the SA 1911 and will soon be the proud owner of a TRS. I read all these posts about happy Les Baer's owners and couldn't resist any longer. I found that SportingArms.com had this model available and ordered from them. My CCW showed up in the mail last week and I will be getting a Mill Sparks Summer Special 2 in horse-hide to carry my new baby around.

Mill Sparks can't get the holster before 10-16 weeks, so I am also looking for a temporary holster (preferably leather and cheaper) as an alternative and backup when going to the range. Any suggestion that would not destroy the finish of the frame like these models made of hard material?

I remember reading a while back on how to break a new barrel, by shooting 1 round and using breakfree to clean the barrel then repeating 10 times and never doing it from the muzzle side. I just want to confirm that I will be doing the right thing on my new purchase. If anybody wants to comment on that, please feel free.

What ammo do you guys use? 230g Winchester from Wallmart is what I used to shot with my SA 1911. Is this ok?

In terms of enhancements, what are the most wanted ones? Lighter trigger would be nice but I don't know what place would do that. Is it easy to find wooden finish grips vs. the black ones that come with TRS? I heard about some bushing issues and since I am planning to take the gun apart for oiling and maintenance, what sort of problems am I facing by doing so? Do I need better tools than the wilson combat bushing remover I bought for the SA?

Thanks for all your suggestions.

·
Registered
106 Posts