1911Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
is it ok to remove material from the upper lugs? i have a fusion match barrel and bushing and im using the smallest wilson link #1 and i have good lock up its just impossibly hard to link down when the slide is on the frame. i also notice if my barrel bushing is upside down on my barrel it slides much easier than if lined up correctly. when lined up correctly it tends to bind at times. my upper lugs are showing high spots i just dont want to ruin my new barrel. any help would be great. thanks guys

i read the thread "gun not cycling". my slide stop pin is not binding on the lower legs. i marked every contact point with a sharpie only high spot seems to be on the upper lugs more so on the front one. if im using the shortest link what else can it be???

please help this is my first build and its been a complete nightmare... i had to fit every thing including the mag release.

·
Registered
2,477 Posts
If that bushing is one of the EGW "Angle-Bored" ones, then it would act as you describe. Or, Fusion may have fit the bushing to your barrel properly and it's just a tad tight in ID in the full lockup position.

You said your slide stop pin doesn't bind on the lower lugs...does it rest on them when the barrel is locked up? And does the pin interfere with the front shoulder of those lugs when moving from recoil into battery position? With that #1 link, it probably does and you'll need to round off the shoulder a bit to clear it. You might want to try a little longer link first to see if that resolves the problem.

And no, don't remove metal from the top barrel lugs until you know where to remove it and WHY to do it at all.

Bob

·
Registered
2 Posts
Barrel Timing

I am going through the same thing and I found that Brownells sells a -3 and a -6 Link. I ordered them today...

·
Registered
1,960 Posts