1911Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
440 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Gents,

I am a novice on Colt WWI 1911 but now I need to become an expert. I just came into a Colt 1911 with serial number 10,xxx that places it as being made in 1912. She is quite the honey. I have been taking a crash course on the 'Coolgunsite.com' pages trying to learn as much as I can.

I have gone thru every aspect of information on that site, and indeed almost all the parts appear to be original. All the necessary marks seem to be there, in the way they should be. There are two questions that I am not sure about that I wanted to ask here.

1. I am not sure if the barrel is original. It does not have a Gothic “H” (No serifs) on the rear of the barrel hood as would be expected for serial number 7500 to about serial #19600. Has Roman “H” (with serifs) on the rear of the barrel hood (Roman type has serifs, the bars at the ends of lines, where Gothic type has straight block letters.) Seems like it is a barrel from Serial #500 to about serial #7500. Also has '3' punched on bottom of barrel in front of barel link. Is is possible that this is the original barrel and that Colt just happen to use of left over erarily production run? This is common practice today as they just use what pops out of the bin. There is also a '3' punched on the top of the frame by the disconnector, next to the H provisional acceptance mark. Does the '3' on the barrel somehow match up to the '3' on the frame?

2. The magazine seems to be a Type III - Colt Two Tone with Loop. It does not have the 'key hole' cut on rear of mag. Since the 'story' is that this gun fought in two World Wars (which I am in the process of trying to verify) would it be reasonable that somewhere along the lines the magazine was switched?

My final question is what sort of effect would the two above 'flaws' have on the value of this pistol?

Thanks in advance.

·
Registered
764 Posts