1911Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am a newbie that recently went to the range and shot a friend's 1911 and liked the way it shot. Now I am looking for a compact 1911 for myself. Been studying the Springfield compacts and recently went to a local gun shop and they had a Micro Compact .45 and a EMP .40 S&W. Took both of them and wanted to see if there was any difference between the 2 besides the caliber. To my eye and the person showing me both guns, they look 99% identical right down to the 2 tone coloring. Even the weights seems to be the same. The size, etc. all seem to be the same also.

I thought that the EMP was built from the ground up to be different because of the .40S&W and the 9mm, so what is different if they look so similar is it all internal ?? Even the grip size feel the same, I would have thought the MC .45 would feel larger but it did not. There was another shop that had a EMP 9mm and that too felt very similar in size, etc. with the MC .45

My questions are:

1. I see that the Micro Compact only has a 6 round capacity, is there any magazines that can have it hold 7 possibly 8 rounds ?? If so which ones ??

2. Does anyone have both of these that can help me decide which one to get ?? I would like to get the EMP 9mm as ammo would be cheaper, but finding that here is hard, everytime I go to Walmart they have .45 and .40S&W so I may just get that instead.

Thanks for any info and sorry for the newbie question. God Bless :)

·
Registered
8,986 Posts
the EMP has a shorter grip frame, firing pin, firing pin spring, extractor, trigger bow, magazine and slide, to name a few of the 15 redesigned parts. the shorter design was originally built as a .45GAP (Defender), which Springfield dis-continued. later they decided to re-work the design for the 9mm/.40S&W. and released it as the EMP (Enhanced Micro Pistol)