1911Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
44 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi all,

I am a total newbie to firearms. All told, I've been involved for just about one year. In that year I think I’ve become addicted to guns. I’ve been lurking here for a couple of weeks now, and figured it was time for an introduction. Before I get to my question, let me give you a bit of information about me.

Although I've had an interest in firearms for some time, I never quite got around to purchasing. I figured that I'd buy something someday, but had no real plan in place. Well, when the Government suggested that I go get some duct tape and plastic to protect my family, I was spurred into action.

Anyway, my first purchase was to be primarily for home defense. I did some research on what would suit my purposes best. I also enrolled in some basic firearm/ hunting classes. Since it seemed to have the smallest learning curve, I started out with a 12-gauge shotgun. I opted for a short-barreled 12 gauge.
Long story short I got a shotgun. I took safety and hunting classes to help familiarize myself with my new purchase.
My next gun was a muzzleloader kit found in my parents’ basement unfinished. I took it home, sanded, fitted, cleaned, and shined. Once I had it sighted in, at 50 yards I managed a <4-inch group with iron sights and my less than stellar vision.
So here I am, almost a year in, and I’ve got one 12 gauge, a .45 Kentucky caplock rifle, a .54 flintlock kit that isn’t quite finished yet, and I’ve got the itch to get more.

Next on my list was a handgun, I was really interested in firing/owning a handgun; something I had never done before. So, a couple of weeks ago I went to a range for instruction on pistol shooting. The pistol I got trained on was a Ruger 22/45 at 15 feet.
Here’s how I did