1911Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
240 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
First post after lurking for quite some time and first off I must say I've accumulated a wealth of knowledge from some of you such as which pistol to carry, which ammo to shoot, and how to carry it. Others have just provided good entertainment.
Here's my problem. Have you ever had a watch with a real nice leather band that you wore all the time no matter the occasion until one day you started to smell something funny then realized it was the leather smelling rather ripe from months or years of sweat? I have, and so I decided that since I work in the A/C industry in south LA. and have ample opportunity to sweat, that I would get a kydex IWB for the summer and a leather IWB for times when sweat wasn't an issue. I was pleased with my set up until I realized that condensation formed on the pistol inside the kydex holster and since I had my shirt tucked over it, it is not always practical to take it out and wipe it down from time to time. No problem, I'll just put a little extra oil on everything....wrong... the oil got runny in the heat and now I have oil and moisture and yes even stainless will rust if not attended to. Leather will obviously help with the condesation but will start stinking in short order and a t-shirt underneath my short sleeve button up will only add to the level of sweat so I don't view that as an option. Keep in mind I climb in peoples attics several times a day and while I'm accustomed to the heat so much that I rarely sweat under normal circumstances, it's hard not to come out of a 140 degreee attic @ 90 relative humidity with even your leather boots dry. Is there something I can treat the leather with that won't leave an oily spot on me or my clothing. Buying a new $100 holster every year will get old quick. What about solving the condensation problem in the kydex?
Thanks

·
Registered
285 Posts