1911Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
169 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Watching dash cam vid of a guy legally open carrying, then being stopped and illegally disarmed has got me thinking of the best way to handle this...

they cop tries to illegally remove the firearm without citing what the citizen is under suspicion of nor asking permission to disarm. The citizen then puts hands on his firearm to try to stop the police officer from taking his firearm.

My question is, once a citizen puts hands on the weapon, isn't that person getting arrested no matter what now? Yes it's an illegal search, and the citizen only grabbed the stock, but to me that seems like the best way to end up with a knee on the back of my neck.

is it better to combat these illegal searches by not consenting to the illegal search but allowing the illegal search under protest, and then filing a civil suit?

to me, I'm not an expert of anything, but if I put my hand on my firearm during a stop, I'm getting arrested, no questions asked.

any thoughts?

thanks!

scott

·
Banned
3,089 Posts
Once a citizen puts a hand on the weapon, he surely has raised the hair on the back of the officers neck. Is he getting arrested? That'd be up to the officer.

I agree that it's a bad idea to touch the gun.

If you consent to the search, then it's not illegal. You can "not consent" without resisting. That'd be my choice. "Officer, I am not giving you permission to touch my firearm. However, I will cooperate if you choose to take it from my posession without my permission. How do you want to proceed?"

·
Registered
3,395 Posts
Cop has just become a criminal threatening and assaulting that man. Attempting to steal from him, he should stand his ground