1911Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Administrator
74,398 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
As some here may know, I've been keeping my eyes peeled for a nice 1942 vintage WB-marked Colt in the sub-800,000 serial range. Well, after months with no success I am suddenly told by a local gun dealer that he had a couple old GI Colts in the back. He brings them out, and lo and behold one is a 1942 WB, s/n #796XXX! I looked it over, and all the parts were original. However, the finish was badly worn (about 60% remaining) plus the bore was wall-hanger grade. I thought, "okay, they'll probably ask a fairly steep price like $900 or something, but I can afford it since it's the only one I've found". I asked how much.

$1400.00!!!!!

I couldn't believe it. I told him a minty example is worth that much, not one in this condition. He said the owner wouldn't budge on the price. Owner wasn't in, of course. By the way the second 1911 was a late 1918 WW1 1911 that had been arsenal refinished by Springfield Armory. 80% finish, grips thrashed, bore corroded. $1200.00 plus the Governor's share.

Next week when the owner is supposedly in I'll try to have a talk with him regarding the WB Colt, but I think I may have to just walk away and keep looking.

------------------
D. Kamm
USGI M1911/M1911A1 Pistols Website
http://www.geocities.com/M1911_M1911A1

[This message has been edited by dsk (edited 10-26-2001).]

·
Banned
1,082 Posts
Why are they keeping a consignment weapon in the back? Sounds like a scam to me. But your not it, so thats good.

·
Banned
5,943 Posts
So dsk...
Was the thing made of silver or some other precious metal? That price seems way too steep for the condition as described. I'd put my walking shoes on if I was given that kinda price. Was this in Bothell by any chance?

Redzone....