1911Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
323 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Greetings all,

I've been shooting a P16-40 Limited in USPSA competition for nearly two years. Except for sights and a hard-chrome finish, the gun is factory stock. I carry the same gun with my CHL.

The gun has functioned flawlessly, but I think I'm ready for a better trigger pull. I have read/heard that I should have the 80 Series parts removed as a part of this process, and the reasons make sense to me, but the disclaimer is always offered that the gun should no longer be used for carry in this condition. It is my understanding that there are probably 10's of thousands of "pre-80 series" guns still in current carry use. Is there something about the conversion that makes it less safe than these older guns?

Aside from that, I plan to get the trigger job even if I have to buy another carry gun. I have picked up that 2.5# would be best, although I also hear stories about much lighter weights. I'm looking for a durable and reliable setup I can learn to use. Are there trade-offs (other than DQ's) that must be made at the lower weights? Would a 2# pull only have half the life? Would a 1.5# only last one season?

Sorry for the long questions, thanks in advance for your expert and sage opinions.

·
Registered
175 Posts
I had EGW do my Paras. 2.5 trigger and they limited still has the series 80 stuff in it. I don't know about the rest of the guys but I know George can do what you want. I wouldn't carry a 2.5 trigger for carry. I have a 4 pounder on that. If it is done right with GOOD (read that as not the factory crap parts) it should last for a loooong time with no problems. I'm not sure how many rounds mine has on it but I know it is 10,000 plus.

·
Registered
323 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·