1911Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am fairly new to the 1911.com community, but I have been lurking for a while now. I thought I'd give a little background info so that all might understand this post a little better.

I live in Houston, but it was the Katrina event in New Orleans that changed my life, and my family’s life. Seeing the fiasco unfold brought an acute awareness: not only was I woefully unprepared to go through an event such as a natural disaster, but I was unprepared for normal daily life in a world where things not only can go wrong, but often do. Somehow, I changed after Katrina. Some might even say I grew up. All I know is that protecting my family and myself became a very, very high priority. My wife and I immediately got our carry permits and began training, studying and most importantly, thinking about life in a different way.

After about a year into it, I have come to love shooting, and I have several weapons...Glock 22, Glock 17, HK P30, Kel-Tec .9 and .32 as BUGs, SW .357 model 686-s wheel...yet the 1911 frames have always drawn me for some reason. I have been reluctant to follow the desire because they are reported to be what I call "tempermental", i.e., it seems each one "likes a certain lube", or "likes one round versus another", etc. Admittedly, I am not a gunsmith, and actually not much of a tinkerer yet. I would love to know more about the machines themselves, but honestly at this stage of the game, I just really love to shoot. Hence the Glocks...i squeeze, they go bang. The HK was a dream impulse purchase. It handled like a dream when I first held it, and it handles like a dream at the range.