1911Forum banner

1 - 20 of 49 Posts

·
Registered
765 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
As I work in a shop in a major shopping center here in Florida.
One of my major concerns is over penetration.

If I must use my handgun.
Id like to feel a bit better that my carry round if I hit my subject wont exit and go through the plate glass and into a crowded parking lot.
I realize that's an impossible scenario to give an actual answer to so Id like some opinions please.

What I have been doing in my carry guns is this.
1st two rounds are Liberty Civilian or "Halo" 75grain +Ps the rest are Ranger bonded in my main gun a 45acp.
I feel that Liberty 75 grainers shouldn't exit if a solid hit.
Should I need more then 2 rounds Im in deep doo doo as is.
The Winchester will just have to do its job. Concerns aside.
I use this loading method in my 380,40 and 45.

·
Registered
1,346 Posts
My pretty well uneducated opinion is; should one have the real need to draw and shoot at a bad guy, over-penetration isn't an overly important concern, not as much as simply hitting the target in the first place. I have seen a 230 grain FMJ go through a pillow, a one inch thick headboard and then be stopped by drywall. All from less than three feet away.
I'm not trying to be flip, but really, the odds of having to shoot someone, or at someone, then over-penetrating and hitting an innocent bystander have to be pretty darn low, right?
So in conclusion, your loading method is somewhat safer, IMO, than using all full power rounds, good to go.

·
Registered
703 Posts
These days, if I'm THAT concerned about the ramifications of missing, I go to the range for a little extra "how not to miss" practice.

A lot of that entails just knowing my own personal limits when I can make the shot and when I can't.

·
Premium Member
6,108 Posts
As I work in a shop in a major shopping center here in Florida.
One of my major concerns is over penetration.

If I must use my handgun.