1911Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
69 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone. I’ve just finished putting almost 1500 rounds through my Loaded Champion in the past month I’ve had it. It has performed beautifully.

I’m still new to 1911’s. As I understand it I should start looking at some spring changes soon. I have spent quite some time searching for all the info but am only getting bits and pieces.

I’m using the average 230gr. FMJ ball ammo. Can someone point me to where I can find ALL the springs I need to start considering to change? It also looks like there is an alternative to the dual recoil setup, but I can’t find definitive information and EXACTLY what the alternative is. I also can’t seem to find the dual recoil springs. The closest I’ve come is on Wolff’s site, but there is a disclaimer that says “these springs are not intended for use for dual recoil setups.”

I’m just trying to figure out exactly what I need to be looking at to change as far as springs are concerned.

Chris

·
Registered
2,607 Posts
If you're not having problems with your Champion, I don't think you will need to worry about springs for a long time. I would call SA customer service and ask them the question you are seeking. They are very nice and will be happy to answer your questions. I have a LW Loaded Champion and the only spring I will replace is the recoil spring located in the slide. It comes as a one piece unit with duel springs and guide rod.

·
Registered
2,071 Posts

·
Registered
69 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
You are getting close to the recommended round count for replacing the recoil spring...you can get all the springs you want here...
http://www.gunsprings.com/Resources/welcomeNOF.html
I've been there. But when I go there I see this message:

RECOIL SPRING are available in load-rated specifications to adjust the recoil function to individual needs. Each load rated recoil spring includes an extra power firing pin spring.