1911Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I had a strange thing happen with my second batch of reloads. In trying to dial in a good load for my Kimber, I loaded 3 test batches of 10 rounds each in the following configuration:
4.6gr Titegroup 1.41 OAL, .468 crimp using once fired brass and 200gr plated SWCs.
4.7gr Titegroup 1.41 OAL, .468 crimp using once fired brass and 200gr plated SWCs.
4.8gr Titegroup 1.41 OAL, .468 crimp using once fired brass and 200gr plated SWCs.

Yes .1 powder difference was the only change (measured each round with the calipers too). The 4.6s and 4.7s fed great in my Kimber, but 2 of the 10 of the 4.8s did not? I can understand too little powder not cycling the action properly, but???? The max. charge listed by Hogdon is 5.2 so I was well under max. load. Anyone have any insight on this? I'm pretty new to reloading and just thought this strange?

Thanks,
Charles

·
Registered
163 Posts
Try increasing your recoil spring weight. You didn't say what kind of gun you're using, but I have a Gov't model and found that 18.5 lbs worked well with 4.8 gr. Titegroup and 200 gr. LSWC. FWIW, my best group yet was with 4.5 gr. Titegroup and 200 gr. LSWC (16 lb. recoil spring).

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I'm using a stock Kimber Custom Shop Pro-CDP(not sure what the stock recoil spring is), in looking into this further, I'm thinking a dirty gun could have had something to do with it (just came from a match). I'm going to load another set of test groups and try again this weekend.

·
Registered
3,686 Posts
Definitely have this same problem when the chamber gets dirty. My Kimber is a bit of a pain in this regard. Usually 125 rounds, and I'll get a FTF (shooting low power reloads.)

·
Registered
143 Posts
I noticed that too. In my Speer manual the OAL length of their 200 grain SWC test cartridge is 1.185 inches.

Originally posted by KLN: