1911Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Howdy all, I've been loading for all rifle types and revolvers for 25 yrs now. I'm fairly new to the auto pistol scene, I've got a USP and just bought a Kimber .45. Are pressure signs similar with the autos? I mean do I look for flattened or cratered primers as in other autos? No sticky bolt to turn or sticky case to eject from a cylinder. What other pressure signs to I look for? I just loaded up some Precision 230 gr. lead RN over 4.8 and 5.0 grains of Titegroup and a fed. LP primer. I averaged 880 fps with the 4.8 load and 950 fps with the 5.0 load out of the Kimber, a little slower with the shorter tubed HK. No Pressure signs, but 950 seems a little fast for the 230 gr. even though it's a "coated" bullet. TIA, Gary

·
Banned
14,948 Posts
Pressure signs in .45ACP are not always easily detectable. The cartridge itself is a relatively low-pressure round, compared to .40 S&W or 9mm or .38spl, so it is somewhat forgiving with regard to pressure.

I would simply pay more attention to your reloading manuals, (consult several)and stay within the guidelines. If your gun is sound, and you are using quality brass in good shape, then you will be fine, even when approaching max. loads.

There is not much improvement in velocity and usually diminishing accuracy as you start pushing the envelope of a given load. The .45ACP cartridge is not designed for warp speed. Best results are usually found with a mid to mid-high loading as far as accuracy and velocity.

·
Registered
550 Posts
The weak point in the system is the feed ramp area of the barrel where the case head is not supported. The typical .45 failure mode is a case failure at this point, which usually blows out the magazine and sometimes blows the grip panels off. As pressure approaches this level, you may see a bulge in fired cases that is not concentric and fits into the feed ramp. At this point, pressure is way too high.