1911Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
83 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Here's one for you. I'm a Florida resident with a carry permit which is good in around 30 states, but not Kalifornia. (Surprise! Surprise!) I am also a retired commanding officer of a northeastern sheriff's department so I have the HR218 qualification that allows retired LEOs to carry concealed anywhere in the USA, Puerto Rico and Guam. I'm planning to visit Kalifornia and my usual carry gun is not on their approved list of handguns. It does not carry even 10 rounds of ammo but, do I have to buy an approved gun to carry as a legal non resident?

Maybe I'll just take my slingshot? :scratch:

·
Registered
702 Posts
Don't ask, don't tell....... :)

·
Registered
3,738 Posts
make sure your slingshot is on the approved list. if it stretches more than 12 inches it probably not approved. also use only organic rocks. keep the tree huggers happy

·
Registered
219 Posts
It pains me to even think about going without one, but the last place I would take a gun as a non-resident is California. For the life of me, I can't remember where, but I read just the other day about a cop arresting another cop for such a thing. IMO, the juice just isn't worth the squeeze.

·
Registered
83 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Great responses guys! Thanks. StraitR, you probably don't know about HR218, but it's federal law permitting qualified retired officers to carry anywhere. I'm just curious about the specific gun. I know that in Taxachusetts they specifically exempt out of state officers on a 218 card from the banned gun list. If THEY do, one would think everyone would.

·
Registered
3,865 Posts
If a person with carry permit residing in CA has a gun that is registered to him - but not on the approved list for out of state purchase - he can legally carry that gun. I would imagine the same to be true for 218s - but a call to the CA State Police would be judicious.

Have a good vacation.

·
Registered
219 Posts