1911Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok,
Call me FNG, Newbie, whatever but I got to ask this question !! I have a SA Loaded with blue finish and a Ruger 22/45 blued also. I am a beginner with handguns and I want to how who to clean them properly. What solvent, oil, the works. I am in the military and there we clean are weapons in solvent tanks in an outdoor environment with plently of air hoses around to dry things off. I will not have that for my personal weapons and will be doing this in my basement so I have to be thoughtful of that. Any help would be great.

·
Registered
82 Posts
Others will likely give you additional insight, but here's my preferences...

I like MPro7 as a solvent/cleaner. It is non-toxic, and is soft on the hands. In addition, it doesn't smell too strongly, which may be important if you are married, have guests, etc.

As a lubricant, I must have most types of lubes, from Break Free CLP,FP-10, Tetra, Rem-Oil, Militec-1, Rig, Rig +P, Xcelleron, etc...

My favorite at the moment is Militec. It seems to work very well, and I like the idea that it is supposed to protect even after "burn-off".

Some people like to use grease on the slide/frame rails, and I've had good luck with the Rig grease, both the regular nd +P.

As far as my cleaning routine goes, it depends n how dirty/how long since the last cleaning...