1911Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a newbie in this forum, but I got a lot of info from you guys. Actually its the first site i visit everytime I log-on to the internet. I have a question. What is the difference between colt officers and colt defender? You see i placed an order for a defender, but my dealer told me that its very hard to find one (im from the Philippines). I was told the availble stock is a colt officer and it would take a little longer to the defender to be available. Do I have to settle for the officer or wait. I cant stand all your praises for the Defender. I have to have one. any info will be greatly appreciated.

[This message has been edited by xela (edited 10-24-2001).]

·
Registered
155 Posts
The Defender is basically an Officers frame with a shorter slide and barrel, 3". There is a difference with the recoil guide / spring setup I believe but everything else is the same. Officers grips and mags all fit the Defender so no problem there. I have a Defender and have found it very reliable and concealable ( as far as 1911`s go). Of course, check your local laws concerning concealed carry before you do carry concealed.

·
Registered
1,684 Posts
The main difference is that the Defender is bushingless. The officer's have had problems with bushing/ bushing plug breakage in teh past because of the system used.
The recoil spring set-up in the Defender also decreases felt recoil more.

AFAIK, Colt has discontinued the Officers, so you might want to find out which Officer's is available, but overall, I think the Defender is a better gun.

·
Registered
892 Posts
Originally posted by xela: