1911Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
80 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi guys, I'm fairly new to 1911 world. I do own a SA 1911-A1 loaded and it's got the 2 piece full length guide rod that requires a hex wrench to disassemble the gun. is there any way I can replace the guide rod with 1 piece full length guide rod that does not require a tool to disassemble it? if it does, what do I need to get? I like to carry my 1911 but I really dont want to carry a hex wrench with me if I go somewhere far. I would like to disassemble it without using any tool. I know that the G.I. guide rod doesn't require any tool to disassemble it, but I would like to stick with full length guide rod. please let me know.

thanks guys,

Aron

·
Registered
4,139 Posts
You sort of want your cake and eat it too. There is a 1 piece guide rod that has a lever installed on the shaft that lifts up to retain the spring cap in compression for disassembly. They are expensive about twice the cost of a 1 piece FLGR that requires a bent paper clip to hold the cap and spring in compression. I think if your search Brownells or Midway you will find it. IMHO having to use a paper clip is not all that bad. I travel around the country with my EDC, and I always have a small tool/cleaning kit in my luggage. Just my .02

·
Registered
364 Posts
Check Brownells or go direct to the Kimber site where >

they sell a one piece guide rod that should just drop right in. Same guide rod they use on their Custom II's.

·
Registered
508 Posts
I don't want to start a whole full length vs gi guide rod argument, but honestly my advice is to change it out to a GI. The full length literally has NO benefit. Many people have done tests on accuracy and reliability between full length and standard and have found absolutely no difference. So I would save myself the trouble and just change it out for the standard length setup...

·
Banned
1,798 Posts