1911Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
384 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been reloading for several years and am interested in learning to cast bullets. One thing eludes me- where do you find a steady source of lead of a known hardness? Scrap yards? Is there such a place that sells lead ingots that are useable?

Chuck

·
Registered
2,845 Posts
Buying ingots of known hardness will end up making those homemade bullets as expensive as store bought, if not more.

Wheel weights are my alloy of choice. I mix 19 pounds of wheel weight metal with 1 pound of 50/50 solder for everything right now. Lyman says an alternative #2 alloy can be made up of a 9:1 blend of WW and 50/50 solder, but that's too wasteful for my purposes. Since I can drive a .308 bullet to 1700 FPS without any leading, I'm still waiting for a need to use anything more than my current alloy.

For the rifles and my .38 Super I water harden the bullets (drop them from the mould into a bucket of water), but just today I found out hardening won't be necessary any longer for my .38 Super. Mayeb I'll need to do it when I play around with bullets for my .357 mag.

If you want consistent hardness, then buy a bunch of wheel weights, 50/50 solder, and a hardness tester. Add or subtract these items to get the hardness you desire. I will say that for the .45 auto, worrying about consistenet hardness seems to be a waste of time.

Melt down the wheel weights at less than 800 degrees and get rid of any that float to the top or do anything unusual compared to the others. Flux it with paraffin was from the grocery and skim off all the dirt and metal clips. Depending on the size of your melter, you'll need some kind of ingot mould that will cast ingots that will fit the melter opening. For my Lee production IV pot, teflon coated mini muffin tins work perfectly.