1911Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Is there a good source to learn about all the different variants of the Colt reproduction World War I and World War II 1911's? I'm trying to find a singular source that provides comprehensive information on every reproduction they've made. I'm far from an expert on this subject and when perusing the web, the subject seems to get murky with a bunch of different reproductions with slight variations and frankly...I'm confused.

I would like to find and purchase one of the reproduction models but can't seem to get a straight idea on what all the different options are. I'm worried I'll purchase one only to find out there was another out there I like more.

·
Administrator
73,034 Posts
In both the Colt FAQ thread and the product reviews thread you'll find plenty of info. I'm not aware of a source that has all the info in one place, but you may have given me some ideas. ;)

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
In both the Colt FAQ thread and the product reviews thread you'll find plenty of info. I'm not aware of a source that has all the info in one place, but you may have given me some ideas. ;)
That would be awesome and much appreciated!

·
Administrator
73,034 Posts
It would take awhile and some research, so don't hold your collective breaths, guys.

·
Registered
23,178 Posts
If you leave commemorative models off the list and stay with Colt it is probably doable, but if you look at other companies that have made something they call a WWI or WWII reproduction it starts to get involved. I remember a gun rag story about the 1910 "reproduction" that USFA? did and how they were pointing out all the inconsistencies comparing it with the original and I think that company did a WWI repo also years ago.

·
Registered
5,600 Posts
Whatever you do I'm sure it will be better than "1911, The first 100 Years"

Think of all the money you would save being at your computer instead of the range.

·