1911Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Approximately how many rounds should I be able to put through my Kimber .45 before I need to change the recoil spring? I'm shooting primarily 200 or 230 gr. ammo. I'm new to 1911s, so I don't know what the 'warning signs' are when the spring starts to go bad. Also, someone else mentioned that changing to lighter IDPA loads would mean the spring should be changed... but to what?

------------------
Kimber: It's a good thing.

·
Registered
9,204 Posts
Welcome to the forum. Factory spring weight should be 16#. By selecting the correct spring weight you can get teh empties to land in about the same spot. When they stop falling where they were falling, it is time to replace the recoil spring.

------------------
Ne Conjuge Nobiscum
Molon Labe

·
Registered
298 Posts
Welcome to the forum...if I recall correctly...empties should land 4-6 feet away, as a rule of thumb...

------------------
Mike
[email protected]
----------------------
"Laws that forbid the carrying of arms ... disarm only those who are neither inclined nor
determined to commit crimes ... Such laws make things worse for the assaulted and
better for the assailants; they serve rather to encourage than to prevent homicides, for
an unarmed man may be attacked with greater confidence than an armed man."
--Thomas Jefferson, quoting Cesare Beccaria in On Crimes and Punishment (1764).

·
Registered
152 Posts
I've seen so many different answers to this question that I've decided not to replace any recoil spring until I'm sure it is causing a problem. So far, one of my Springfields is approaching 9000 rounds with no sign of trouble at this point.

·
Registered
152 Posts
Originally posted by Jim V:
When they stop falling where they were falling, it is time to replace the recoil spring.
There are other variables aside from the recoil spring that can be attributed to this symptom.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #6