1911Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
80 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone

I've been reading these forums for about two months now and this is my first post. I've been shooting for 20+ years, but I'm new to centerfire reloading. I'm having difficulties getting a consistent powder charge out of my Lee "Perfect Powder Measure"....the one with the micrometer adjustable charge bar.

I went to the range yesterday and chronographed a variety of different loads for my .45 and found that there was a great deal of variation in the velocity readings. Here are the velocities for one load:

bullet: 200 gr lead swc
bullet dia: .452
bullet oal: .645
loaded cartridge oal: 1.250
primer: CCI 300 large pistol
powder: 4.5 gr Red Dot
case: mixed

shot 1: 852.7
shot 2: 758.8
shot 3: 808.3
shot 4: 809
shot 5: 835.4
shot 6: 833.1
shot 7: 824.2
shot 8: 838.4
shot 9: 870
shot 10: 775.6

average: 820.55
max: 870
min: 758.8
stdev: 33.84

I'm using a Shooting Chrony model F1 and just to check the consistency of the Chrony I tested a batch of S&B factory hardball loads. They were wonderfully consistent with an avg velocity of 858 and a stdev of only 6.16. So, I went looking for other reasons for the variable velocity in my loads. When I got home, I threw 50 charges of Red Dot from my powder measure to settle the powder (I had to fill it prior to this test) and then threw 10 charges and weighed them all. Here are the results:

charge 1: 4.5
charge 2: 4.6
charge 3: 4.5
charge 4: 4.5
charge 5: 4.5
charge 6: 4.8
charge 7: 4.5
charge 8: 4.8
charge 9: 4.5
charge 10: 4.6

Hmmmmmm........I think I found the reason my velocities keep changing. So, on to the questions:

Lee's website says that "some powders do not meter well" but doesn't specifically mention Red Dot. Is this problem common to all flake powders or just Red Dot? Does anyone have any suggestions for ways to improve the consistency of the powder charge thrown when using flake powders?