1911Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi Folks,

Maby this is not a new question...
Finally I am a proud owner of a colt combat commander series 80 in 9mm luger cliber. Due to increasing ammonition price I am thinking about reloading.

I am a totally newbie in reloading... but pressure, and case length should work for my combat commander, FN high power and Glock 17.
So in simple words one solution for all thre pistols, without damaging one of those.
I don´t want to get any damages on my Colt, because spare parts in Europe are really hard to find...but I love shooting this beauty

Any suggestions?

·
Registered
1,500 Posts
There's gonna be many 9mm loads that'll work in all three pistols. You'll have to work up some loads for the most finicky pistol and tune the loads so they'll work in all three guns.

I run my 9mm loads in my STI Trojan ,S&W shield and my XDM 4.5"

Good luck

·
Registered
2,277 Posts
Stick with 124grain bullets-FMJ
good powders to try are 231, VVn320, or unique
primers-whatever is cheapest in your area

·
Registered
3,091 Posts
I used the same press for my pistols as my rifles. 9mm or .357 Magnum or .38 Special are similar to reload. I used Lee carbide dies in a RCBS press and it worked well.

Develop an optimum load for your 9mm is a trial and error process.

Go to Handloader Magazine for great info.

·
Banned
218 Posts
Check the powder company web sites (Hodgdon/IMR/Winchester/VV/AA/etc) for recommended loads. Stick to 124 gr bullets. Hodgdon HP-38/Win 231 (exact same powder according to Hodgdon web site) is a favorite.

You will not hurt the Commander with any sane load, and probably not with any thing that will fit in the case and seat a bullet unless you are really working hard at it, like with powder from a blank (DO NOT DO THAT!!), or something equally stupid.

Use carbide dies (I like Lee four die sets with the Lee Factory Crimp Die) and have fun.

·
Banned
12,388 Posts
He's in Europe.