·
Registered
7,166 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I like Massad Ayoob. I think we can learn alot from him. Now for the
profanity . . . BUT, sometimes he gets my goat. I saw him on Defense
TV last week giving a big pitch for retention holsters. As in you're a
real duffous if you don't use one. He was modeling one which had a
small, single release paddle on the outside of the OWB holster.

What got me is he talked like civilians carrying concealed are made ALL
the time, and naturally when they are made, bad people come over and
snatch the gun. Hence you need a retention holder.

The scenario he presented was preposterous. If I didn't know he was
a cop, I'd think he was marketing director for some company that makes
retention holsters.

For police carrying openly, a retention holster makes sense. But for civilian
CCW, it seems GOOFY. Am I missing something here?

Joe

·
Premium Member
20,401 Posts
I've been carrying concealed for 30 years, and have always enjoyed reading Ayoob's writings, but consider himself a self centered boob. He brags about being an LEO, but most of his time was a reserve or volunteer. He condones carrying a 1911 hammer down on a live chamber, and has never shown me any tactical improvements over what I already know. To me, he's a Guns & Ammo whore who gets paid for whatever they want him to say.

·
Registered
15,319 Posts
self-centered vs opinionated based on experiences

Whilst I do not agree with Mr. A on every matter, I've found him to be more right than wrong.

I know his boss, too.....

And, right or wrong, Mr. A is without question NOT a whore.
IMO his integrity is above reproach.

·
Registered
15,319 Posts
forgot to post about this thread LOL

Who (else) here has kicked their dropped pistol across the Post Office floor? (or similar oopsie?)

A nice thumb-break holster ain't, IMNSHO&E, such a bad idea......

·
Registered
3,906 Posts
Ayoob is not correct if he thinks that the CCW holder needs a retention holster.