1911Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I recently purchased a new RIA 1911 (.45) One of the first things I like to do with a new firearm is practice with a laser cartridge. Normally, when I insert the cartridge into a new gun and give it a click, the little red flash is aligned almost perfectly with the sites. Much to my surprise, with this one, it was about five inches to the right and an inch up at six yards. I took the cartridge out and rotated it to see if it had been damaged and would be five inches off to the left, or high, or low, but no, it was still 5 inches to the right and an inch high. This is well over a full degree off! Remember, this is not a live round with any recoil, this is a laser. I braced it, viced it, and everything else but I still keep getting the same result. I am not new to shooting having began around 1980, but I am new to the 1911. The cartridge shoots straight in everything else, so I'm pretty sure that is not the problem. In order to use the sites, the front site has to hide completely behind the left rear site about half way between the edges. The front of the barrel seems to be perfectly in the center of the barrel bushing. The gun has to be held unnaturally cocked to the left so far that you can easily see the left side of it. It is visibly not straight and is very awkward .

Is this common?
Has anyone else run into this?
Did I get ripped off? (It was brand new)
Any suggestions?

·
Super Moderator
14,377 Posts
It sounds like a simple matter of drifting the rear sight to the left (or the front sight to the right). And welcome to the forum.

·
Registered
21,769 Posts
I would not get worried unless you can insert a real cartridge and apply a moderate amount of force to the trigger. If the hole appears 5 inches to the right of the point of aim at six yards, I will agree that you have a misaligned pistol. Make a warranty matter out of it.

·
Premium Member
3,579 Posts