1911Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
317 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I picked up an old Marlin 444 lever action and a old 410 bolt-action shotgun today at a local gun store, They had a nice used stainless Ruger Security-Six 357 mag with a six inch barrel for $399. How do you guys like them compared to the GP100 & the SP101 in 357mag? If they still have it in a couple of days I think I'll pick it up and give it a shot.

·
Registered
1,186 Posts
I have no experience with shooting or owning one but I can tell you that I much prefer the looks of the Security Six/Speed Six over the GP & SP.

·
Registered
8,190 Posts
A Security Six would be my first choice of the three you mentioned. Great guns! Of the SSs I've had I had one that was a blued 6 inch and it was a fine shooter. The 4" were great shooters as well, but the 6" was just a nicely balanced, easy to shoot gun.

I think of the Security Six as sort of K-Frame like sized gun you can actually shoot plenty of magnums out of in any bullet weight that will fit in the OAL of the chambers.

When I do see SSs around they are almost always 4" and blue. A 6" in stainless I haven't seen in the wild in at least a decade. Not saying they haven't been out there. Just that I haven't seen them in my regular roaming which I used to do a lot.

If you can pick it up do it! I doubt you will be disappointed.

·
Registered
317 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I see then at the gun show but are 95% of the time 4 inch and blue, I prefer stainless. I'll have the extra money in a couple of day and if they still have it I'll pick it up. I like the revolvers better then the autos and have been buying mostly revolvers.

·
Registered
828 Posts
The Security-Six is a great revolver. IMHO the GP100 is just to bulky. The SP101 is a great revolver as well, but not quite large enough to fit the service revolver catagory. The SP101 makes a great CCW piece.