1911Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I recently purchased a SA Loaded Full Size stainless --it's my first 1911 and I'm very new to the 1911 scene and handguns for that matter. I have a question about the adjustable trigger that SA touts on their Loaded models. I've read the manual, which doesn't even mention the adjustability, and looked at SA's website, and I still can't find what exactly is adjustable on the trigger and how to adjust it. SA's website states that the trigger is adjustable for overtravel. Can someone please explain what is meant by overtravel and how to adjust it on the Loaded models? I guess I could call SA but I would rather receive a consumer's experienced point of view.

·
Registered
541 Posts
LL,Without getting into a long explanation the best thing to do is take out the adjusting screw,if not just leave it alone.

·
Registered
1,987 Posts
...don't mean to be short...It's something that should be done by a smith or at least someone that understands the mechanism and how it oprates "correctly"...the trigger group on the 1911 is "THE" one place you don't wanna' muck around unless you know exactly what you're doin'...If you are having problems, now is the time to find the best 1911 guy around and strike up a relationship...In fact, find one BEFORE you need them...

------------------
>>>>>>>>>>g2<<<<<<<<<<

I Like The Shade Too!

·
Premium Member
3,232 Posts
Given what all have said above...Don't mess with it if the gun is working properly..What the adjustment they are talking about is a small set screw in the trigger that will bump up against the mag release. What it does is adjust the amount the trigger will travel after the sear has been released. If it is adjusted too closely or the screw moves, this will render the gun inoperable.

[This message has been edited by eerw (edited 07-06-2001).]

·
Registered
166 Posts