1911Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
238 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Can y'all recommend a good brand of gunsmith screwdrivers?

Thanks & Merry Christmas!

·
Registered
24,361 Posts
My advice to you is.

Check out Brownells web site. They have several different sets as well as individual drivers. I have a master set and they are fine.

My two cents. :rock:

·
Registered
2,430 Posts
My son got me a set of Pachmayer screwdriver/tips last year for Christmas.

It has like 5 different sized phillips and 12 different straight blade as well as an assortment of other tips that must be for ray guns or light sabers.

Anyway, . . . they work great, . . . and the whole thing comes in a snap closed light blue plastic case that sits nicely in my desk drawer.

May God bless,
Dwight

·
Registered
651 Posts

·
Registered
5,066 Posts
The best set, and used by most pro gunsmiths is the Brownell's Magna-Tip set.

These are the best quality, they offer more sizes than anyone else, and Brownell's replace broken bits for free.
All you have to do is email them.
The quality of metal and workmanship is top of the line, the range of sizes will fit right at 99.999% of all screws without alterations.

I recommend the Law Enforcement size handles.
The big handle is too big for good control on most applications, and the stubby handle is just too short for good control:

http://www.brownells.com/.aspx/pid=417/Product/MAGNA_TIP_SUPER_SETS_trade_

·
Registered
353 Posts