1911Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
96 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Backround:

I'm new to handguns, new to this forum, and am in the process of deciding on my first handgun purchase. I have been extensively researching makes/models/caliber,etc. relative to my intended use, and although I've shot less than 400 total rounds with various handguns, I'm faily confident a full size 1911 is the way I should go (currently MN doesn't have "shall issue" CCW permits, but it almost passed in the last legislative session, and looks to in the next one. However, I've got a lot of skills to develop before I even think about carrying, and by that time, I figure I could purcahse something that would be easier to conceal).

In light of this, and my burgeoning interest in handguns, I'm seeking some advice on that first gun, and by posting this message in the Kimber forum, I suppose I'm hoping to be told what I want to hear
. I want a dependable, accurate, precision machine that will last indefinately, and that won't need a lot of fine-tunning OTB. Further, I'd like to get involved in local IDPA competition after improving on some basic skills, so I'd like a good gun for that. I want to buy Quality, but a Wilson (or finely customed Kimber)is certaily more expensive than I'm willing to pay for and is beyoned needs at this point.