1911Forum banner

1 - 20 of 54 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to 1911's, and I am soon going to pick up a Kimber Rimfire and Eclipse. I have seen a lot of posting here about people getting Series I pistols from Kimber, and they seem to be happy about this fact.

My question is: Are there known issues with the newer Kimbers, are the older ones better, etc?

G

·
Popcorn.............check
Drink..................check

Hang on a minute while I go get my smokes.

Do a search.

Hang around a bit, you'll hear all the banter about series I vs. series II that you can handle.

·
Premium Member
20,404 Posts
I've yet to hear a reason why S-II's are superior.

·
Registered
1,130 Posts
Series 11 pistols have a internal hammer drop safety in case the pistol is dropped on the hammer the pistol will not fire. The series 1 pistols do not have the safety.

There were or are problems with the series two guns safety causing problems. I believe Kimber has them corrected now. Kimber does not make the series 1 pistol anymore. They may become a collector items 100 years from now.

I do not have a series 11 pistol so I have no experience with the new pistol.

plunker

·
Registered
1,352 Posts
I have a few original series Kimbers and three Series IIs.

None have given me any unexpected problems, and after removing the firing-pin-safety from my IIs, they are just like the originals.

The FPS caused me no prolems, but I don't care for them, so I remove them as a matter of course, just like on Colt Series 80s.

·
Registered
70 Posts
The answers that you will get are more from a cult or religious perspective vs a practical failure or problem standpoint. ;)

Jess

·
Premium Member
4,787 Posts
Jess said:
The answers that you will get are more from a cult or religious perspective vs a practical failure or problem standpoint. ;)

Jess