1911Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
95 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My daughter is giving reloading dies for a 45 acp for my birthday. My question is how is the best way to adjust them so my reloads work in my 1911? I'm not a novice at reloading as I've been reloading rifle and revolvers for about 30 years and after getting my first centerfire semi I need to start reloading for it. I'm curtainly using a RCBS Rockchucker for a press but am thinking of getting a progressive once I get use to loading for the 1911.

·
Registered
1,409 Posts
Dodge - what brand of dies? Just as for your other loading dies, these should have a set of instructions detailing the adjustments you need to do to get them operating correctly! Best to start with those. I load with Lee carbide dies for the .45ACP. I found thru trial and error that I had to adjust the expander die just right as not to bell the .45ACP case mouth too much, otherwise when I seated and crimped a bullet the round wouldn't fully chamber in my 1911. Regards, NAA.

------------------
Colt 1911: Best damn "Government" in the World!

·
Registered
697 Posts
dodge,

You would set them up basically the same as you would for a revolver or rifle, with the following exceptions:

1 Overall length is more critical with pistol than revolver. Loading manuals specify OAL for particular bullets. Be aware that seating deeper than specified will increase pressures.

2 A taper crimp is recommended for pistols. Many people, me included, use a Lee Factory Taper Crimp Carbide Die to crimp in a separate operation after seating a bullet.

3 Pistols may be somewhat fussy about bullet shape in regard to reliable feeding.

4 Notwithstanding #1, OAL may need to be tweaked for your particular pistol.