1911Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
159 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have limited experience with a few Les Baer pistols and lots of random experience with the normal production 1911's.

If you were going to build that "once in a lifetime dream 1911", what frame and slide would you start with?

I know the Les Baer's will still be really tight and accurate thousands of rounds later so, I'm a little biased towards that choice. However, a lot of people swear by Caspian but, I have no personal experience with their frames and slides. How about Rock River or someone else?

What factors should I consider when choosing a frame and slide for my dream build? I'm not looking to "penny pinch" but, I also want good value for the money spent. I'm initially considering EGW for the build but, I'm open to other gunsmiths as well. My pistol target price range is in the $2500 to $3500 range for a Defensive 1911 single stack with all the bells and whistles as people say. ;)

Best Regards,
Sid

·
Registered
2,908 Posts
Let your smith tell you -

If EGW then ask George what he suggests.

Otherwise recent manufacture is better than older - some people want a Colt at all costs, some people want a custom serial number, some people want a material that is hard to find - ultimately it will all come down to the quality of the maker so ask the maker what fits his style best.

·
Registered
1,497 Posts
You mentioned that Bear's seem to stay tight longer. THat is more of a matter of how it it is fit than the actual frame and slide itself. Go with Caspian and you won't go wrong.

·
Registered
3,684 Posts
I'd imagine the professional pistolsmiths will be best positioned to answer this question just by the virtue of being exposed to multiple product samples from different manufacturers.

Maybe Mrs. Rogers, Rodgers or Harrison, who all visit these boards, will chime in.

I am in somewhat similar position researching components for an upcoming custom build except that: