1911Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am fairly new to reloading but things seem to be going fairly smooothly except for one thing.

I have measured all of the ammo that I have made and the measurements are right on with the factory ammo that I have been using. But about every five or six shots the slide will fail to go all of the way back so it is not chambering the next round. They are shooting right on point of aim. Also when I manually cycle the slide most of them will chamber and eject normally but then some of them won't. I have used calipers to compare them to the factory loads and to my handloads that are working and they are exactly the same. Is it my reloading or do I need a new ejector or a heavier recoil spring or what. Any help will be greatly appreciated.

230 fmj
6.0 grains of VitaVhori 340
New Starline Brass or Used Fonnici brass
Whinchester Large pistol primers.

Thanks!!

·
Registered
1,409 Posts
Where did you get your load data? (Wondering what the velocity rating is). I know that with very light loads, sometimes slide will not cycle fast enough and cause a FTF (fail to feed). I am not familiar with load with the powder you list. I use Red Dot, Bullseye, Unique, Win 231 or Dupont 700X for my .45's. It may be just the load or that you have a very heavy recoil spring installed. Regards, NAA.

------------------
Colt 1911: Best damn "Government" in the World!

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
In the Vihta Vuori Reloading Guide that came with the powder. It says that with the min. load (6.0 grains) that the velocity should be 846 fps. Max. load is 6.5 grains with 928 fps. ???

·
Registered
7 Posts