1911Forum banner

1 - 20 of 54 Posts

·
Registered
444 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Slide Stop - REALLY DIFFICULT - Solved thanks to log man!!

I am new to 1911s. Been shooting other semiauto's for years. Not new to handguns.

I have field stripped my like-new Les Baer Premier II Stainless a few times so far, and I find it INSANELY difficult to insert the slide-stop. I am determined NOT to make any idiot marks, and I am getting a bit exasperated.

The slide-stop-plunger has ALOT of spring pressure behind it, and the cut of the slide stop is such that it does NOT depress the plunger by pressing it in. It just hits the side of the plunger and stops. I have been using three hands and feet to try to press in the plunger with the blunt end of of a bamboo skewer while pressing the slide stop down into position, and I am suffering greatly. Some one suggested using a credit card, but that is no help at all, just chewing up the card since the plunger spring is sooooo strong.

Even if I were totally unconcerned about gouging up the frame and slide, if I were a soldier in the field, I'd have a HELL of a time putting the slide stop back in. There must be a positive way to do this. . .

(With no exaggeration, it takes me about 10-15 minutes just to get the slide stop back in. This is ridiculous)

·
Registered
93 Posts
Well, to avoid the "idiot mark" calm down a little bit. That is normal in a new gun. Try put some oil in the plunger tube and push it in with your finger to work the oil in and smooth out some of the surfaces. Under normal use the slide stop and the plunger will smooth themselves with time. To make it sooner, use some 600 to 800 grit sand paper and "polish" the contact surfaces.

·
Registered
4,139 Posts