1911Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to reloading, started with 38 special. I used Titegroup with LSWC and Remington primers. I was in testing these rounds in an indoor range, and I thought Smokey the Bear was going to smack me over the head with a shovel. VERY smokey and left the gun extremely dirty. Tried again with Bullseye, and had a little better luck, but not much. I am comparing these to Winchester Winclean factory rounds that produce no smoke.

Is it the lead bullet vs. a jacketed on that creats this mess? I have also shot factory Remingtons with lead round nose bullets and have not noticed them to be much worse than the Winchester. Any suggestions??

·
Registered
2,005 Posts
You may have some bullets with extra lube on them. Burning lubricant can produce that smoke and mess. I've never used Titegroup, so I don't know anything about the powder itself. Some powders, like Unique, create a lot of "residue", also.

------------------
If God didn't want us to own guns, why did He make the 1911?

·
Registered
323 Posts
Unless you've inadvertently loaded some black powder, it probably isn't the powder.

My guess would be bullet lube. Was there a big honkin grease ring around the bullets that you used?

Jacketed bullets don't require lube, so there is usually very little smoke.

·
Registered
841 Posts
The traditional lubed lead bullet does smoke more mainly because of the lube. I have found my 38 Special loads smoked up so bad I had to stop using it at a local indoor range that had lousy ventilation. By the sixth round I could barely see the target still.......and it was at 7 yards. The lighting at that particular range was lousy as well so that did not help either. At the outdoor range it was not a big deal as long as the wind was not blowing back at me.

You may want to use a plated bullet or one of the non waxed based lubed bullets, like the graphite or moly coated ones.

·
Registered
22 Posts