1911Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
9,204 Posts
Yes, either that or one with a face like those on USGI triggers; rounded with light checkering.

·
Registered
235 Posts
I really like the smooth trigger. I am saving a little gun toy stash for a new firing system for my Kimber and will include a smooth trigger.

Enjoy;

·
Registered
539 Posts
For a carry gun, I'd imagine a serrated trigger face is probably just ever so slightly, marginally safer. But in my experience, I can't shoot a serrated trigger for extended periods, it's just too uncomfortable, and throws me off too much. I'm beginning to think the best method is to choose based on use.

·
Registered
14 Posts
Can you explain your reasoning, Wes? I'd never heard any statements about safety bfore.

·
Registered
539 Posts
Well, I'm only a novice, so I can only offer limited insight compared to an experienced shooter/instructor..but my consideration was, that on a sharply serrated trigger, you're both getting a more secure position on the trigger (less chance of slipping), and most importantly, it's giving you a strong tactile feedback as to how much force you're applying to the trigger. It just might make a bit of a difference in that ten-thousandths of a chance event, by telling you that your finger is on the trigger (by causing discomfort), and thus prevent you from firing before you're ready. Perhaps this doesn't apply to people with callused fingers. Perhaps it just ain't so in actual usage. But that's been my impression of why one might choose a serrated trigger for a carry gun.

·
Registered
217 Posts
Well for me my fingers tips have gotten a little numb over the years. The serrated trigger tell me what part of my finger is on the trigger and it helps me keep the right part of my finger on the trigger. On a smooth trigger it is too easy for my finger to change position.

·
Registered
179 Posts
I use a smooth trigger. On my bullseye gun I have a flat smooth trigger.