1911Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
666 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Not the HK USP Compact, but the new HK45 Compact. Thinking about picking one up today as a EDC. I'm looking for a good trouble free .45acp. I love my 1911's but they are a little more picky then any HK, M&P or GLOCK I've ever owned.

I've been carrying a full size 1911 for over five years now but I've gotten lazy about cleaning my guns with a new 15 month old baby in the house, I just don't have the time!

Anyway I thought an HK45C might be a good option for next to zero maintenance firearm that is virtually 100% reliable.

I have 8 1911's, a mixture of COLT's, Springfield's and Kimber's so I wouldn't say I'm hating on 1911's or anything. Just looking for something a little less picky.

I do currently have one of the Smith and Wesson M&P .45acp Mid-Compact (full frame w/ 4 inch slide) and it is a fine gun but frankly it isn't even in the same class as anything HK makes. If I'm going to use it for a EDC to protect my family, I want it to be as reliable as it can be.

HK for the win quality wise, hands down when it comes to poly framed pistols.

·
Registered
856 Posts
Trouble free, bomb-proof, reliable.

Still wider than Glock, M&P or XD, but narrower than the old USP. Overall height is actually short but bore-axis is high.

I usually carry my 1911 Commander but I've carried my HK45C for weeks at times. The difference is noticable but it is not that big an issue.

It was actually more difficult to find a holster for it.

And magazines were expensive (they also take 10-round USP Compact .45 mags btw).

Decocker may be tricky if you ride it like the 1911 safety.

Trigger in SA mode is actually more like the XDM, in that it has some light takeup, then requires a noticeable increase in pressure for the last bit before it releases.

This is unlike the M&P which has some trigger travel but is light / constant all the way through.