1911Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
550 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
i was reading my owners manual from kimber for my eclipse and kimber recommends to swap recoil spring at 1500-1800 round. then mainspring and fire pin spring at 5000 rounds. is this some thing i need to take extra serious or replace when part starts to fail? i have 1500+ in one of my 1911's and getting there on another. i think wilson recommends 1000 on the recoil spring. am i correct on that?

both pistols function with out flaws, at least to date. also i have a series 1 kimber(its the one with 1500+ through it) and the owners manual doesnt have recommended sping change details. are they the same as the series 2 pistol?

does swaping out the mainspring and fire pin spring involve alot of skill? i would like to start getting my hands wet with these kind of things. should a newbie basement pistolsmith attempt these tasks? i say basement smith because i am new to smithing period. plus it sounds funny.......thanks for any help on this and merry christmas!

·
Registered
335 Posts
Depending on how much you dry fire, you might have to change your firing pin spring more often. The last time I stripped my slide, my firing pin spring was broken in half. It was less than a year old, fewer than 4,000 rounds through the gun, but I dry fire a lot.

--tdow

·
Registered
2,477 Posts
Changing the firing pin spring only involves removing the firing pin stop (the pin and spring will probably drop right out), replacing the spring (tight end goes on the pin first) and replacing the pin/spring assembly in the tunnel and then replacing the stop.