1911Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
35 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
It seems that many readers on this board don't like Springfield's Integrated Locking System (ILS) - why is that? I've got a couple of Springfield 1911s with the ILS and haven't found any reason to want to remove them yet. Am I missing something?

Thanks
- Brad

·
Registered
919 Posts
Murphy's Law: What can go wrong will.....and always at the worst possible time.
I don't lock guns, I put them in the safe. If I wanted to lock a gun, I would. I don't want some do-gooder thinking up great safety ideas and implimenting them in my firearms because, some day, the gun won't work because the damned thing failed.

At the worst possible time!

I'm replacing mine with a regular MSH.

·
Registered
739 Posts
Chief,
I'm with you on this one, but I'm a 1911 rookie so my opinion may not hold much water. I thought the Taurus revolver locking system introduced a few years ago was also a great idea. I don't like what S+W did to their revolvers because I think it's just ugly. The Taurus lock and moreso the SA ILS are much less visible but still functional. I like the idea of a lock you CAN use if you want. (I usually don't but can think of situations where it may come in handy.) I do hate the idea of government mandated internal locking devices but as long as it's functionally sound, not visually distracting and voluntary, I don't see a problem. Nemesis; I'm all for your solution; if you don't like it, replace it. To each his own.

·
Registered
1,966 Posts
You don't even have to replace the msh if you don't want to. You can just replace the "guts" to do away with the lock.

·
Registered
1,535 Posts
I replaced mine to go to a lighter mainspring. I went ahead and replaced the MSH as well, just to get rid of the extra hole.