1911Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
How hard is using steel cased ammo in Colts? Will it tend to break the extractor/ejector if used? How much is detrimental? I have read that there are competitions in which steel cased ammo is used specifically. I am fairly new to 1911s...I currently carry Glock (please,I am trying to reform!!) Would appreciate any input. Thanks

·
Registered
946 Posts
Buy a bunch of it and shoot it; if and when you have any real trouble from it let us know.... Pretty much all I've ever seen is a lot of Internet hype without any real substance.

·
Registered
279 Posts
I've never had an issue with Tula ammo by the case load in any of the Colt's I've used it in. That would be a S70 SS, Gold Cup Trophy SS, or Combat Commander.

Buy some and check it out.

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thanks guys. As a matter of fact, I just bought some TUL at Wallyworld! That is what prompted this post.

·
Registered
204 Posts
I shoot it in my Colts.

It seems to work very well.

I heard that some of the cheaper pistols couldn't handle it.

·
Registered
127 Posts
Before the ammo hype I bought a couple cases of Tula in .45 and one of wolf in 9mm for my stable of colts and everything has worked just fine. I think steel gets a lotta bad hype because its hard to reload and sometimes has a weird finish on it that can make tolerances tight. But with Tula and wolf you should be just fine. They seem to be pretty decent as far as practice ammo goes, see photos below!

Attachments

·
Registered
318 Posts
How hard is using steel cased ammo in Colts? Will it tend to break the extractor/ejector if used?
Internet (gun store?) folklore.

Buy it and shoot it -- you won't hurt your Colt.

Heck, I reload Tula and shoot it through mine.

·
Registered
289 Posts