1911Forum banner

STI, love them or hate them?

• Hate them, makes the traditionalist in me want to cry

Votes: 22 7.4%
  • Ho Hum take them or leave them

Votes: 44 14.7%
  • Love them, you either get it or you don't

Votes: 206 68.9%
  • Who cares about looks, they are Steven Seagal approved!

Votes: 27 9.0%
1 - 20 of 110 Posts

·
Premium Member
5,753 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Okay, I would like to get a bit of feedback on some 1911s I have no personal experience with, STI.

First off, I put this here to get feedback from more than just the loyal STI fans.

Second, please be respectful. I do not wish for this thread to end up insulting, or starting a shouting match over anyones choice in 1911s.

I understand that STI is huge in competition guns and that form follows function, hence we get the STIs that look like they should be strapped on to Han Solo's thigh while he is drinking in a Mos Eisley Cantinia!

Competition guns not withstanding, I think it is fair to say STI certainly has their own unique style with billboard lettering, fonts, cocking serrations, etc.

What is it about STI that has earned them such a following in competition guns? What do others think about their unique vision of a 1911? Do you love or hate the style of their more standard 1911s?

·
Registered
1,412 Posts
I don't think I would ever buy one of their guns, but I did rent one and it worked. They just don't "do it" for me. I also didn't like the Beretta M92 either. I don't hate them, they just don't work for me.

hence we get the STIs that look like they should be strapped on to Han Solo's thigh while he is drinking in a Mos Eisley Cantinia!
This gun by chance?

I guess some folks like real guns but some folks like toys as well. :eek:

·
Registered
179 Posts