1911Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I recently purchased right-handed Safariland magazine holders thinking that these were for right-hand shooters but now I'm beginning to think that they are for wearing on the right side - is that correct? The reason I ask is that when worn on the left side, they tilt backwards which doesn't seem correct. I'm new to IPSC so any help would be greatly appreicated. PS - why are these things so expensive!

·
Registered
731 Posts
I don't know about left handed vs. right handed, but when you have the mag carrier on your belt, when you insert the magazine, the rounds should be pointing towards your belt buckle.

Billy Ray

·
Registered
116 Posts
You've got the right mag pouches. They should tilt backward. You want to wear these more on your front than your side. I wear four of them between the belt buckle area and the hip. The forward ones tilt back and the one at my hip is straight up. Just experiment and see what works for you.

I guess it would seem funny if you're trying to wear them like "normal" pouches on the hip or a little behind it.

Good luck with the game!

Dave

·
Registered
9,204 Posts
Billy Ray, why should the bullets point to the front? I can reload much faster and surer if I carry my magazines with the bullets to the rear. Perhaps that is because I've almost always carried my mags that way.

------------------
Ne Conjuge Nobiscum
MOLON LABE
Leonidas c 480 BC

[This message has been edited by Jim V (edited 07-12-2001).]

·
Banned
14,948 Posts
Originally posted by Jim V:
Billy Ray, why should the bullets point to the front? I can reload much faster and surer if I carry may magazines with the bullets to the rear. Perhaps that is because I've almost always carried my mags that way.

I got this one, Billy Ray!