1911Forum banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

Registered
EB Kobra Carry, WC Protector, Colt Combat Elite, T Series BHP, and a Walther PPK to name a few faves
Discussion Starter #1
The Hi Power was my 80s gun. From about 1978 up until I started shooting IPSC in about 1987, I had a bunch of 'em. I loved them - and still do. But the 1911 took over my pistol safe and holsters. I've got several 1911s from Colt, Wilson, Brown, etc. But I always missed those damned Hi Powers. Their classic, elegant lines, their impressive, worldwide military record, and that feel in the hand - and the resulting pointability.

Last week I got the itch bad. So I scratched it. 馃ぃ

I found a T-Series on GB and bid what I was sure was too low.....but I won it! The seller did a poor job advertising it - never even mentioning that it was a T. But I looked at the serial number and, sure enough, it was. Got it for under $1k and felt very lucky to do so. Especially now that it has arrived. It's BEAUTIFUL! There's some blueing worn off on the high, sharper lines. The checkering n the wood grips is rather smoothed down...and the lacquer is almost gone in places. Itwas filthy dirty and dry as a bone. So....

I switched out the grips, did a detailed strip and clean, lubed her up, and went to the range. Wow. Just, wow.

The "humped" feed ramp is notorious for having some difficulty with modern JHP rounds. Nope. I fired over 150 rounds of mixed ammo of every type - from std FMJs to sub-sonics. From old, wide-mouthed JHPs from a variety of manufacturers to my preferred 147 grain Federal HSTs. Basically, I cleaned out the dreck from my 9mm ammo stash and threw it in 5 different mags. Then loaded two mags with the HSTs. Every round fed, fired and ejected perfectly. The pistol is damned accurate as well, and she only bit me once! (I'm waaaaay too accustomed now to the high grip afforded by a 1911 beavertail). It was just a love nip though - no blood, so all's well. (y)馃榿